Ho and the Other Kherwarian Languages

Authored by: Gregory D.S. Anderson , Osada Toshiki , K. David Harrison

The Munda Languages

Print publication date:  March  2008
Online publication date:  April  2015

Print ISBN: 9780415328906
eBook ISBN: 9781315822433
Adobe ISBN: 9781317828860


 Download Chapter



Strictly speaking, we have no consensus which ‘languages’ are to be considered Kherwarian. The Kherwarian language continuum consists of, according to Norman Zide and his mid-1960s Munda languages project group at the University of Chicago, Asuri, Bhumij, Birhor, Ho, Korwa, Mundari, Santali, and Turi. According to the most recent edition of the Ethnologue (Gordon 2005), Kherwarian has 12 languages; that is, Asuri, Birhor, Koda, Ho, Korwa, Mundari, Mahli, Santali, Turi, Agariya, Bijori (Binjhia, Birjia), and Koraku. The International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (Bright 1991) follows their classification, in which, Bhumij is not considered a separate language, but rather a dialect of Mundari, whereas Agariya, Mahli, Koda, and Koraku are considered to be separate languages.

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.