The Asian Tigers

Authored by: Takashi Kanatsu

Routledge Handbook of the History of Global Economic Thought

Print publication date:  August  2014
Online publication date:  August  2014

Print ISBN: 9780415508490
eBook ISBN: 9781315761084
Adobe ISBN: 9781317644125


 Download Chapter



The Asian Tigers refer to the following four economies: Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan, which showed remarkable economic development from the 1960s to the 1990s. There are some similarities among these four economies: however, each economy is significantly distinct. The naming of the Asian Tigers focuses more on the outcome represented in GDP growth rates, rather than the causes of such economic growth.

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.