Verso Prometeo

Authored by: Jonathan Impett

Routledge Handbook to Luigi Nono and Musical Thought

Print publication date:  October  2018
Online publication date:  October  2018

Print ISBN: 9781409455974
eBook ISBN: 9780429485732
Adobe ISBN:


 Download Chapter



Das atmende Klarsein (1981) for bass flute, choir and live electronics, sets lines from Rilke and ancient Orphic texts. It is Nono’s first collaboration with philosopher Massimo Cacciari. Experiemnting with flautist Roberto Fabricciani, Nono moves work from the out-of-date Milan studio to the live electronics of the SWF Experimental Studio in Freiburg, led by Hans-Peter Haller. Fabricciani, Haller and the Freiburg studio will remain close collaborators. Work with Fabricciani establishes a new level of co-creation. Nono establishes a secondary base at a hotel in the Black Forest. Das atmende Klarsein is intended to become part of Prometeo, now fully in development with Cacciari. Io, frammento dal Prometeo (1981) is a further study. His performing group expands. Spatialisation and live electronic processing become integral to his compositional process. Quando stanno morendo. Diario polacco n. 2 (1982), setting East European and Russian poets, is a response to Soviet repression in Poland. Omaggio a György Kurtàg and Guai ai gelidi mostri (1983) are both for Nono’s core ensemble of alto (Suzanne Otto), flute (Fabricciani), clarinet (Ciro Scarponi), tuba (Gianfranco Schiaffini) and live electronics (SWF studio). Omaggio a György Kurtàg begins as a structure for guided improvisation. The role of space in Guai ai gelidi mostri is discussed in detail.

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.