Authored by: Frank Cain

Routledge Companion to Intelligence Studies

Print publication date:  August  2013
Online publication date:  September  2013

Print ISBN: 9780415507523
eBook ISBN: 9780203762721
Adobe ISBN: 9781134480296


 Download Chapter



The Australian intelligence community is composed of six independent agencies, most of which were established during the Cold War. The oldest is the Australian Security and Intelligence Organisation (ASIO), followed by the Australian Secret Intelligence Service (ASIS), the Defence Signals Directorate (DSD), the Defence Intelligence Organisation (DIO) and the Office of National Assessments (ONA), and the latest is the Defence Imagery and Geospatial Organisation (DIGO).

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.