The League of Arab States and human rights

Authored by: Mervat Rishmawi

Routledge Handbook of International Human Rights Law

Print publication date:  December  2013
Online publication date:  August  2014

Print ISBN: 9780415620734
eBook ISBN: 9780203481417
Adobe ISBN: 9781135055943


 Download Chapter



The League of Arab States (LAS) was the first regional inter-governmental organisation, created in 1945 by seven newly independent Arab states. 1 1

The first members of LAS, which established the organisation, were Egypt, Iraq, Transjordan (renamed Jordan after 1946), Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria and Yemen. The initial meeting in which a decision was taken to create the organisation was in 1944, and this is sometimes cited as the date of the inception of LAS.

These were subsequently joined by 15 others, therefore constituting the current 22 members of LAS. 2 2

The 22 members of LAS (in order of joining the organisation) are: Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Yemen, Libya, Sudan, Morocco, Tunisia, Kuwait, Algeria, Oman, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Mauritania, Somalia, Palestine (represented by the Palestine Liberation Organization — PLO), Djibouti, and Comoros.

LAS has its headquarters in Cairo in Egypt, although some of its meetings are held in other locations.

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.