Permanent-Magnet Direct-Current Motion Devices and Actuators

Authored by: Sergey Edward Lyshevski

Mechatronics and Control of Electromechanical Systems

Print publication date:  May  2017
Online publication date:  July  2017

Print ISBN: 9781498782395
eBook ISBN: 9781315155425
Adobe ISBN:


 Download Chapter



The principle of energy conversion and electromagnetism in electromechanical motion devices was examined and demonstrated by Michael Faraday in 1821. The first commutator DC electric motors were designed, tested, and demonstrated by Anyos Jedlik in 1828 and William Sturgeon in 1832. Alternating current machines (synchronous and induction) were invented and demonstrated by Nicola Tesla in the 1880s. By 1882, Tesla pioneered, developed, and experimentally substantiated the principles of time-varying AC electromagnetic field for two-phase induction motors. These pioneering developments are the cornerstones of wireless communication, AC electric machines, radio detection and ranging (RADAR) technology, etc. He developed, demonstrated, patented, and commercialized the induction motor, AC power transmission technologies, and communication devices during the 1880s and 1900s. The first three-phase, squirrel-cage induction motor was designed and demonstrated by Mikhail Dolivo-Dobrovolosky in 1891.

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.