Fiber-Optic Network without WDM

Authored by: Partha Pratim Sahu

Fundamentals of Optical Networks and Components

Print publication date:  July  2020
Online publication date:  July  2020

Print ISBN: 9780367265458
eBook ISBN: 9780429293764
Adobe ISBN:


 Download Chapter



In the second generation of networking, the signal is transmitted in an optical domain (preferably through optical fiber) but multiplexing, switching and amplification are performed in an electrical domain. There are four basic topologies normally used in the second generation of networking [1–8] – bus topology, ring topology and star topology. In bus topology the most common networks are Fasnet, Expressnet and dual queue data bus (DQDB) [1–3]. In case of ring topology, most popular networks are fiber distributed data interface (FDDI) and its extension version FDDI-I. In star topology, most commonly used optical networks are Fibernet-I and Fibernet-II. These fiber-optic networks are based on fiber channels [1] organized into five levels – FC-0, FC-1, FC-2, FC-3 and FC-4 [13]. Figure 7.1 shows architecture of a five-layer fiber channel in which levels FC-0–FC-4 of fiber channel hierarchy are described as follows [1–2]:

Search for more...
Back to top

Use of cookies on this website

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of our site. You can find out more in our Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.